Recreational Opportunities

Hunting — Fishing — Camping — Hiking — Nature
study and wildlife viewing — Bicycling
Outdoor photography

Conservation Areas are closed from 10 p.m. to 4 a.m.
except for authorized camping, fishing, hunting,
launching and landing boats and dog training activities.

* No littering.

e No fireworks.

* No open fires except in designated areas. Fires must
be attended at all times.

* Dogs must be leashed when not used for

training or hunting.

* Nuts, berries, fruits, mushrooms and wild greens
may be taken for personal use. Cutting or removing
other vegetation is prohibited.

* Primitive camping is permitted only in spots
designated on the area map. Campers are limited to 14
consecutive days in a 30-day period. Groups of 10 or
more campers need a special-use permit.

* Bicycling is allowed on service roads and roads open
to vehicles.

* Motor vehicles are allowed on public roadways and
in parking areas.

* Horseback riding is prohibited.

* No target shooting allowed.

* Swimming, scuba diving, water skiing,

sailboarding, skateboarding, caving and rappelling are
not allowed.

Fishing and Boating

Fishing and frogging are allowed under statewide regula-
tions with the following exceptions:

* On lakes and ponds, fish may be taken only with
pole and line and not more than three (3) poles may be
used by one (1) person at any time.

* Seining or trapping live bait, including tadpoles, is
prohibited.

* Boats may only be used for fishing and wildlife
activities and may not be left unattended overnight.

* In Ozark streams, black bass may not be possessed
from Mar. 1 through the Friday before the fourth
Saturday in May.

* In lakes and ponds, daily limits are 4 catfish in the
aggregate (channel, blue, and flathead); 6 black bass, 30
crappie; and all other fish, statewide limits, but not to
exceed 20 in the aggregate.

* In lakes and ponds, black bass more than 12” but less
than 15” must be returned to the water unharmed im-
mediately after being caught.

Hunting and Trapping

Hunting is allowed under statewide regulations with the
Jfollowing exceptions:

* Deer Hunting is permitted under statewide seasons
and limits.

* Portable tree stands may be used between Sept. 1 and
Jan. 31. Stands must be identified with the name and
address, or conservation number of the user. Screw-in
steps or other materials that would damage the tree are
prohibited.

* Furbearer trapping is permitted by special-use permit.

From Preston, take Highway 54 east 2.5 miles. Take
Route F north from Highway 54, then gravel road #96
east to the southern portion of the area, or continue
north on Highway 54 to P Highway and take P High-
way east to its end at the northen tract of the area.

For local information, contact:
Missouri Department of Conservation
2350 South Jefferson
Lebanon, MO 65536
(417) 532-7612

Additional area information is posted on bulletin
boards located in parking areas and area offices.
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(Regulations are from the Wildlife Code of Missouri and selected statutes of the State of Missouri.

Special area regulations are in Chapter 11 of the Wildlife Code. A free printed copy of the Wildlife

Code, which lists most area lations, is ilable from the Conservation Department. Chapter 11
p
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in its entirety is i urre
participate in and benefit from programs of the Missouri Depa; of Conservation is
to all individuals without regard to their race, color, national origin, sex, age or disability. Questions
should be directed o the Department of Conservation, RO. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102,
(573) 751-4115 (voice) or 800-735-2966 (TTY), or to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Division
of Federal Assistance, 4401 N. Fairfax Drive, Mail Stop: MBSP-4020, Arlington, VA 22203.

at www.sos.mo. 3csr/3esr.asp.) Equal opportunity to
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