
Conservation Area

(Regulations are from the Wildlife Code of Missouri and selected statutes of the State of Missouri. 
Special area regulations are in Chapter 11 of the Wildlife Code. A free printed copy of the Wildlife 
Code, which lists most area regulations, is available from the Conservation Department. Chapter 11 
in its entirety is available at www.sos.mo.gov/adrules/csr/current/3csr/3csr.asp.) Equal opportunity to 
participate in and benefit from programs of the Missouri Department of Conservation is available 
to all individuals without regard to their race, color, national origin, sex, age or disability. Questions 
should be directed to the Department of Conservation, P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102, 
(573) 751-4115 (voice) or 800-735-2966 (TTY), or to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Division 
of Federal Assistance, 4401 N. Fairfax Drive, Mail Stop: MBSP-4020, Arlington, VA 22203.

Shoemaker

Recreational Opportunities
Wildlife Viewing – Fishing – Hunting – Outdoor 
Photography

Conservation Areas are open from 4:00 a.m. to 10:00 
p.m.; hunting, fishing, trapping, camping, dog training, 
launching and landing boats allowed 24 hours a day on 
areas where these activities are permitted.

•	 Any activity with groups of  10 or more need 
a special use permit. Contact area manager.

•	 Guiding for pay is prohibited.
•	 Use of  fireworks are prohibited. 
•	 Nuts, berries, fruits, edible wild greens and 

mushrooms may be taken only for personal 
consumption.  Digging of  roots is prohibited.

•	 No bicycling or horseback riding 
opportunities except on public roadways.

•	 Vehicles are only permitted on public 
roadways and in parking lots. 

•	 Camping is allowed on or adjacent to all area 
parking lots and in designated camping areas.  
No unattended open campfires allowed. 
No amenities are provided. Groups of  10 
campers or more must obtain a special use 
permit. Stays are limited to 14 consecutive 
days in a 30-day period. 

•	 Walk-in/backpack camping is allowed 
EXCEPT during firearms deer and turkey 
seasons. No amenities are provided. 

•	 Field trials prohibited.
•	 Pets and hunting dogs are permitted but 

must be on a leash or confined at all times. 
Hunting dogs may be used off  the leash 
and unconfined for hunting and training 
purposes. Hunting permit required to train 
dogs in pursuit of  wildlife.

•	 Target shooting is not allowed.

Fishing and Boating
Fishing is permitted under statewide regulations.  The 
following special regulations also apply:

•	 Seining or trapping live bait, including 
tadpoles, is prohibited in lakes and ponds.

•	 Seining or trapping live bait is permitted in 
streams.
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•	 Salvage seining of  non-game fish for personal 
use is permitted only with written special use 
permit.  Contact area manager.

•	 Gig, longbow, or atlatl may be used for carp, 
buffalo, suckers, and gar in streams during 
statewide seasons.

Hunting and Trapping 
Area is open to statewide regulations.  The following special 
regulations also apply:.

•	 Only portable stands are allowed from 
September 1 through January 31. Unattended 
stands must be plainly labeled on a durable 
material with the full name and address or 
Conservation number of  the owner and be 
removed from the area by February 1st. Use 
of  nails, screw-in steps, and any material 
or method that would damage the tree is 
prohibited.

•	 Decoys and blinds are permitted but must be 
disassembled and removed daily.  Blinds may 
be constructed on-site only from willows and 
non-woody vegetation.

•	 Trapping of  furbearers allowed only with 
special use permit. Contact area manager.

For local information, contact:
Missouri Department of  Conservation

3500 S. Baltimore
Kirksville, MO  63501

(660) 785-2420
or

www.missouriconservation.org

Additional area information is posted on bulletin 
boards located in parking areas and area offices.

Regulations are from the Wildlife Code of Missouri 
and selected statutes of the State of Missouri. 

(Regulations are from the Wildlife Code of Missouri and selected statutes of the State of Missouri. 
Special area regulations are in Chapter 11 of the Wildlife Code. A free printed copy of the Wildlife 
Code, which lists most area regulations, is available from the Conservation Department. Chapter 11 
in its entirety is available at www.sos.mo.gov/adrules/csr/current/3csr/3csr.asp.) Equal opportunity to 
participate in and benefit from programs of the Missouri Department of Conservation is available 
to all individuals without regard to their race, color, national origin, sex, age or disability. Questions 
should be directed to the Department of Conservation, P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102, 
(573) 751-4115 (voice) or 800-735-2966 (TTY), or to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Division 
of Federal Assistance, 4401 N. Fairfax Drive, Mail Stop: MBSP-4020, Arlington, VA 22203.


