* Paddlefish may be taken or possessed from March
15 through April 30. All paddlefish less than twen-
ty-four (24”) in body length, measured from the eye
to the fork of the tail, must be returned to the water
unharmed immediately after being caught.

* From February 20 through April 14 walleye and
sauger may be taken and possessed only between

1/2 hour before sunrise and 1/2 hour after sunset in
the unimpounded portions of all streams, except the
Missouri and Mississippi rivers. All walleye and sau-
ger less than fifteen inches (15”) in total length must
be returned to the water unharmed immediately after
being caught.

* Head and tail must remain attached to all fish
while on the waters to which length limits apply,

or until checked by an agent of the Conservation
Commission.

* Seining or trapping live bait, including tadpoles, is
prohibited on all lakes and ponds.

* Boats, including sailboats, may be used on lakes
and ponds designated as open to boats. Boats may
not be left unattended overnight.

Hunting and Trapping
Area is open to hunting under statewide regulations.
The following special regulations also apply.

* Only portable tree stands are allowed and only
from September 1 through January 31. Unattended
stands must be plainly labeled on a durable material
with the full name and address, or Conservation
Number, of the owner and be removed from the area
before February 1. Use of nails, screw-in steps, and
any material or method that would damage the tree
is prohibited.

* Decoys and blinds are permitted but must be
disassembled and removed daily. Blinds may be con-
structed on-site only from willows (Salicaceae) and
nonwoody vegetation.

* Trapping is allowed only with a special use permit
issued by the area manager.

* No shooting zones occur along area boundaries

to avoid shooting near residences. Respect property
boundaries and avoid trespass.

® Trail and game cameras are prohibited.

* Deer and turkey regulations are subject to annual
changes. Please refer to Spring Turkey and Fall Deer
and Turkey summaries for current regulations.

For local information, contact:
Missouri Department of Conservation
2000 S Limit
Sedalia, MO 65301
(660)530-5500

Visit us at:
www.mdc.mo.gov

Additional area information is posted on bulletin
boards located in parking areas and area offices.
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(Regulations are from the Wildlife Code of Missouri and selected statutes of the State of Missouri.
Special area regulations are in Chapter 11 of the Wildlife Code. A free printed copy of the Wildlife
Code, which lists most area regulations, is available from the Conservation Department. Chapter 11
in its entirety is avai at www.sos.mo. ules/csr/currentl3csr/3csr.asp.) Equal opportunity to
participate in and benefit from programs of the Missouri Department of Conservation is available

to all individuals without regard to their race, color, national origin, sex, age or disability. Questions
should be directed to the Department of Conservation, RO. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102,
(573) 751-4115 (voice) or 800-735-2966 (TTY), or to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Division
of Federal Assistance, 4401 N. Fairfax Drive, Mail Stop: MBSP-4020, Arlington, VA 22203.
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About this Area

Lamine River Conservation Area is a transition of
interesting landscapes. River bluffs, broad mean-
dering floodplains, and rolling uplands are common
features formed with a merging of prairie plain
farmlands and river hills. The Lamine River itself

is a transition stream that forms with a merging of
Richland Creek and Flat Creek near the south end of
the area. Richland Creek is a gravel bottomed stream
with Ozark like, pool-riffle characteristics. Flat Creek
runs a bit wider and slower, more characteristic with
a watershed that drains deeper soiled, rolling farm
country. The Lamine River enters the Missouri River
about 50 miles downstream.

Lamine River was named “Riviere a la Mine”, or
“River of the Mine”, by a prospecting party under
Phillip Renault, Director-General of the French
colonies in America. The group discovered lead on
this river in 1723. For a number of years the spelling
remained La Mine. Union Troops protected the rail-
road bridge over the river which was called La Mine
Crossing. Eventually the spelling and pronunciation
of the river’s name was changed to its present form of
Lamine.

Lamine River Conservation Area acquired in 1983, is
in southwest Cooper County on the Cooper/Morgan
county line, and located about one mile east of Ot
terville on Highway A. Highway 50 bisects the area.

This 6,019 acre area has uplands that comprise
woodlands, oldfields, grasslands, small glades, and
scattered small ponds. Uplands transition into broad
floodplains where forested river corridors border
bottomland forest, cropfields, idle areas, and small
wetlands.

Area users can expect to see management practices
including warmseason grass and forb plantings;
woodland thinning; wetland management; foodplots
and planted crops left for wildlife; invasive plant con-
trol; and prescribed burning and discing to maintain

early succession habitats attractive for quail, rabbits,
and songbirds.

For the hunting enthusiast the area supports good
deer, turkey, squirrel, and rabbit numbers, and fair
quail and waterfowl numbers. Wildlife viewing
opportunities are abundant with seasonal variety

of songbirds and migrating waterfowl. The stealthy
may glimpse river otter or bobcat. Stream and pond
fishing is popular on the area.

Facilities / Features: A concrete boat ramp to Lamine
River on Hwy A; four designated camping sites (no
amenities); 9 fishable ponds; 12 miles of Lamine
River and 3 miles of smaller streams.

Recreational Opportunities

Bird Watching — Hunting — Fishing — Camping —
Hiking — Trapping — Outdoor Photography — Wildlife
Viewing

Rules and Regulations

Open_for public use from 4:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.;
hunting, fishing, trapping, camping, dog training,
launching and landing boats allowed 24 hours a day on

areas where these activities are permitted.

* Vehicles are only permitted on public roadways and
in parking lots.

* Camping is allowed anytime in designated camping
areas. These may or may not have defined campsites.
Seasonal closures and restrictions may apply.

* Pets and hunting dogs are permitted but must be
on a leash or confined at all times. Hunting dogs
may be used off the leash and unconfined for hunt-
ing and training purposes. Hunting permit required
to train dogs in pursuit of wildlife.

* Nuts, berries, fruits, edible wild greens and mush-
rooms may be taken only for personal consumption.
* Bicycle use restricted to service or access roads.

* Target shooting not allowed.

* Trail and game cameras are prohibited.

* Use of fireworks is prohibited.

* Digging of roots is prohibited.

* Field trials prohibited.
* For any activity with groups of 10 or more a special
use permit is required.

Fishing and Boating
Fishing and frogging are permitted under statewide
regulations. The following special regulations also apply.

¢ In lakes and ponds, daily limits are catfish in the
aggregate (channel catfish, blue catfish, flachead cat-
fish), four (4); black bass, six (6); crappie, thirty (30);
and all other fish, statewide limits, but not to exceed
twenty (20) in the aggregate.

* On lakes and ponds, fish may be taken only with
pole and line and not more than

three (3) poles may be used by one (1) person at any
time. Black bass between twelve inches (12”) and fif-
teen inches (157) in total length must be returned to
the water unharmed immediately after being caught.
Carp, buffalo, suckers and gar may be taken by gig,
longbow or crossbow during statewide seasons.

* On streams, daily limits are are six black bass, 10
channel catfish, five blue catfish, five flathead catfish,
15 white, yellow, hybrid and striped bass combined,
15 rock bass and warmouth combined, four walleye
and sauger combined, and two paddlefish. All other
fish are not to exceed 50 fish in aggregate. Possession
limits are twice the daily limit.

* No black bass may be taken or possessed in the un-
impounded portion of any stream from March 1 to
the Friday before Memorial Day. All black bass less
than 12 inches in total length must be returned to
the water unharmed immediately after being caught.
* The daily limit of white bass, yellow bass, striped
bass and their hybrids may include not more than
four (4) fish more than eighteen inches (18”) in total
length.



